Adventure track in northern Peru

My Peruan friend Avicha told me about the fortress of Kuelap. It is a cultural Chachapoya site in northern Peru. The Chachapoya, also called the warriors of the clouds, were an Andean people living in the cloud forests of the Amazonas region. Unlike Machu Pichu, hardly any tourist visits this site, since you have to organise a private tour. Public transportation is quite dangerous and can take an unpredictable while.

As I desperately wanted to go there, I walked around Cajamarca to find a guy Avicha was travelling with years ago. After a couple of hours, I did find this guy, who organised a driver and introduced himself as my “private” guide. The track to the site goes on dirt roads along the Maranon River delta, a side river of the Amazon River. These three days were one of the most breathtaking days of my travels. I highly recommend this experience to anyone travelling Peru.

As we were driving up and down the hills, nature changed completely every hour. Within these three days we saw only about six cars. We were nearly the only ones on this track. The road was very bad and it was exhausting to always bounce up and down. But when we got out of the car, there was nothing but silence, nature and breathtaking views.

These three days tought me that life is a journey, not a destination. But without the destination, I would not have started the journey. This amazing road you can even find on Google Earth (Can you find the turn on the road on the google map?)

4 thoughts on “Adventure track in northern Peru

    • Hey Susanne, there is so much more to Peru! It is such a gerat country. High mountains, jungle, historical sites …. Next Sunday I will find s.th. else from Peru for you ;-). If you want I can try to get you in touch with Avicha. So happy you enjoyed this post.

Leave a Reply

SUNDAY BLOG

Escaping the everyday life with photographs from my travels

CBS San Francisco

News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of SF

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Sherry Clayton Works

Sharing my insights on personal and professional development.

