Discovering winter’s beauty

Looking at the sky I see the birds leaving the country for a warmer place to stay during winter time. Yesterday the first snowflakes fell from the sky. I felt a bit sad realizing, that the warmer days of the year are over. But isn’t it the beauty of change? Isn’t it a luxury that we can love spring, summer, autumn and winter? Doesn’t each seasons bring something special to our lives?

Winter to me is the time of the year when I – travel ;-) to prolong summer… but also it is the time of the year when I have the tranquility to relax on the coach or in my bed for hours without feeling the urge to do something outside. The time when I start to lighten candles to make it cozy, read books and listen to music more often.

It feels like a holiday at home for the soul. The time of the year when I am most connected to myself as I cannot run away as easily as I do any other time of the year. Winter is the time when my lungs breath the freshest air.  Also, the time of the year  when I am continuously freezing – but there is nothing better then a stop at a cafe to warm up. Winter is also the time of the year when the streets are full of romantic christmas decoration and when the family comes together for christmas.

I took this picture a couple of years ago when I just got my new camera. It shows one of my favorite places – the harbor of Hamburg. To me it is one of the most beautiful and powerful places. It reminds me of the beauty of home and the beauty of winter.

Leave a Reply

SUNDAY BLOG

Escaping the everyday life with photographs from my travels

CBS San Francisco

News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of SF

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Sherry Clayton Works

Sharing my insights on personal and professional development.

