Coming home to the heart of art production

Three years ago, my boyfriend and I stepped into an art gallery in Como, Italy, and got caught of a woman looking at us with her water-like blue eyes from an almost 2 x 2 meter painting. Talking to the gallery owner, we got to know, these expressive paintings were created by Harding Meyer, a German artist born in Porto Alegre, Brazil.

Looking for him online, we learned, that he has been painting loads of different faces with his very unique technique (most of them oil on canvas). Getting in touch with him online, we found out, that he lives just 10 min away from my parents’ house. Isn’t it fascinating how things come together at times?

This morning we got on our bikes and went to see him in his studio and living house. Stepping into his house, felt as if we stepped into another world with him as a personal guide taking us by his hand through his art life and art pieces. The world around us stopped as we immerged into an intense conversation about the evolution of several peaces. I felt overwhelmed by all the art pieces made by him. All this faces looking at me, as I turned around in the studio. Every face with a story I didn’t know. Strangers, which did not really feel strange.

This really made our Sunday. Thank you Mr. Meyer.

8 thoughts on “Coming home to the heart of art production

  1. Hi there, thank you so much for your compliments. That’s a big motivation to keep on writing. At times I struggle to find a topic and I also doubt at times, if the things are really worth telling “everybody”. I’ll start next Sundays Post with a big smile. Thanks a lot!

  2. Hi there I am so happy I found your weblog, I really found you by
    error, while I was researching on Google for something else, Nonetheless I am here now
    and would just like to say thanks a lot for a remarkable
    post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to read through it all at the moment but I have book-marked
    it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    a great deal more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

SUNDAY BLOG

Escaping the everyday life with photographs from my travels

CBS San Francisco

News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of SF

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Sherry Clayton Works

Sharing my insights on personal and professional development.

